Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores
Halo

Halo Collar 5 review

$524$599Price checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official store. Prices change.

Ranked #4 of 5 GPS dog collars we compare, with an editorial score of 8.7/10. Strongest point on paper: live GPS over cellular (included). Weakest: required plan per month ($9.99/mo).

Editorial score8.7/10
  • Live GPS over cellular10.0
  • Required plan per month3.0
  • Battery life3.0
  • Virtual fence10.0
  • Price4.8

Points out of 10 within the category; "n/a" = not published, left out of the score. Scale 7.8-9.5. How we score

Check price at the official store

Direct link to the maker, not an affiliate link.

Key specs

  • YesGPS
  • Unlimited cellular data on all major carriers (plan)Network
  • 2 daysBattery life
  • YesVirtual fence
  • 10 lbMinimum dog weight
Verdict

Best for owners replacing a physical/invisible fence on large properties.

What we like

  • Dual-frequency GPS, AlwaysOn tracking, virtual fences
  • Training content (Cesar Millan) built in
  • 90-day satisfaction guarantee

What we don't

  • Expensive hardware + mandatory plan
  • Battery up to 48 h only
  • Bronze plan limited to 5 fences

Full specs

GPSYes
NetworkUnlimited cellular data on all major carriers (plan)
PlanFrom $9.99/mo (Bronze); annual billing shown as Bronze $9.16/mo, Silver $13.74/mo, Gold $18.32/mo (pay 11 months)
Battery life2 days
Virtual fenceYes
Water resistanceNot stated
Minimum dog weight10 lb
Training & alertsCesar Millan training program in app, feedback system (prevention/warning), beacons
WeightNot stated

Subscription and hidden costs

Price checked on Oct 29, 2026: $524 (list price $599; the lower price is the maker's current offer).

Plan: From $9.99/mo (Bronze); annual billing shown as Bronze $9.16/mo, Silver $13.74/mo, Gold $18.32/mo (pay 11 months).

First year with the cheapest monthly plan: about $644 including the collar.

Who it's for

Owners replacing a physical/invisible fence on large properties.

Look elsewhere if

  • You do not want a monthly plan: one is required, from $9.99/month.
  • You want to charge rarely: about 2 days per charge.

Questions

How much does the Halo Collar 5 cost?

$524 on the official store when we checked on Oct 29, 2026, down from a list price of $599. Prices change: the button above leads to the current price.

Does the Halo Collar 5 need a subscription?

Yes. From $9.99/mo (Bronze); annual billing shown as Bronze $9.16/mo, Silver $13.74/mo, Gold $18.32/mo (pay 11 months).

How long does the battery last?

Up to 2 days per charge (maker figure; real life depends on tracking mode).

How did you score it? Did you test it?

No lab or field testing. The score is calculated from the maker's published specs and price, with weights published on our methodology page. Here, 100% of the weighted criteria were known.

Sources

Read on Oct 29, 2026. Specs and prices are the maker's; the score and the verdict are ours.