#2
Image: manufacturer, embedded from the maker's site
SpotOn GPS Fence Nova review
Ranked #3 of 5 GPS dog collars we compare, with an editorial score of 9.0/10. Strongest point on paper: required plan per month. Weakest: live GPS over cellular (optional plan).
Points out of 10 within the category; "n/a" = not published, left out of the score. Scale 7.8-9.5. How we score
Direct link to the maker, not an affiliate link.
Key specs
- YesGPS
- Not required for fences; optional real-time tracking plan uses cellularNetwork
- YesVirtual fence
- IP67Water resistance
- 15 lbMinimum dog weight
Best for rural properties with poor cell coverage.
What we like
- Fences work without cellular or Wi-Fi
- Unlimited fences, Keep Out Zones
- Assembled in New Hampshire; IP67, −30°F to 120°F
What we don't
- Very expensive ($999)
- Battery ≥33 h with tracking (daily charging)
- Static correction may not suit all owners
Full specs
| GPS | Yes |
|---|---|
| Network | Not required for fences; optional real-time tracking plan uses cellular |
| Plan | Not required (Optional tracking: $9.95/month; $101.88/yr; $179.76/2 yrs (Shopify subscription products)) |
| Battery life | Not stated |
| Virtual fence | Yes |
| Water resistance | IP67 |
| Minimum dog weight | 15 lb |
| Training & alerts | 2 warning tones, vibration, optional static correction (30 levels), Keep Out Zones, manual feedback, training guide |
| Weight | Not stated |
Subscription and hidden costs
Price checked on Oct 29, 2026: $999.
Plan: Optional tracking: $9.95/month; $101.88/yr; $179.76/2 yrs (Shopify subscription products).
Who it's for
Rural properties with poor cell coverage.
Look elsewhere if
- You are on a budget: it is the most expensive of the GPS dog collars we compare.
Closest alternatives
Full ranking
#2
#4Halo Collar 5
- Dual-frequency GPS, AlwaysOn tracking, virtual fences
- Expensive hardware + mandatory plan
Questions
How much does the SpotOn GPS Fence Nova cost?
$999 on the official store when we checked on Oct 29, 2026. Prices change: the button above leads to the current price.
Does the SpotOn GPS Fence Nova need a subscription?
No plan is needed for the core features according to the maker. Optional: Optional tracking: $9.95/month; $101.88/yr; $179.76/2 yrs (Shopify subscription products).
How long does the battery last?
The maker does not publish a battery life in days.
How did you score it? Did you test it?
No lab or field testing. The score is calculated from the maker's published specs and price, with weights published on our methodology page. Here, 71% of the weighted criteria were known.
Sources
Read on Oct 29, 2026. Specs and prices are the maker's; the score and the verdict are ours.