
Timekettle T1
9.0/10, the highest score of the 6 rated handheld translators.
Rule: Highest editorial score in the category.
Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 · 7 products · scored on published specs, not lab tests
Our top pick

$299.99checked Oct 29, 2026

$449checked Oct 29, 2026

$199checked Oct 29, 2026

$269checked Oct 29, 2026

$429checked Oct 29, 2026

$149.99checked Oct 29, 2026

Rank and medals come only from the published formula. Buttons are direct links to the maker, not affiliate links. Images: manufacturers and publishers, embedded from their official sites.

9.0/10, the highest score of the 6 rated handheld translators.
Rule: Highest editorial score in the category.

$149.99 when we checked, with a score of 8.8/10.
Rule: Lowest price among the rated products.

0 offline languages (maker figure).
Rule: Most offline languages published by the maker.

Built-in SIM with lifetime data in about 200 countries (maker claim).
Rule: Best-rated device with lifetime data included.
Each badge follows a published rule, shown under the card. A product gets one badge at most: each rule picks among the products not already picked.
One column per product. Swipe sideways on a phone; the first column stays in place.
| Spec | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our score | |||||||
| Editorial score | 9.0/10 (Best in this row) | 8.9/10 | 8.9/10 | 8.8/10 | 8.8/10 | 8.8/10 | No score |
| Rank in its category | #1 of 6, handheld translators | #2 of 6, handheld translators | #3 of 6, handheld translators | #4 of 6, handheld translators | #5 of 6, handheld translators | #6 of 6, handheld translators | No score |
| Price and running costs | |||||||
| Price | $299.99 | $449 | $199 | $269 | $429 | $149.99 (Best in this row) | $549 |
| Mobile data included | 24 months global data included | lifetime free internet in ~200 countries (built-in SIM) (Best in this row) | 2-year cellular data in 170+ countries/regions | 2-year cellular data in 170+ countries/regions | lifetime free internet in ~200 countries (built-in SIM) (Best in this row) | 1 year global data included | lifetime free internet in ~200 countries (built-in SIM) (Best in this row) |
| Subscription | Not required | Not required | Not required | Not required | Not required | Not required | Not required |
| Cost over 2 years | $299.99Device only: no subscription required (maker) | $449Device only: no subscription required (maker) | $199Device only: no subscription required (maker) | $269Device only: no subscription required (maker) | $429Device only: no subscription required (maker) | $149.99 (Best in this row)Device only: no subscription required (maker) | $549Device only: no subscription required (maker) |
| Languages | |||||||
| Online languages | 52 | 82 | 92 | 92 | 85 | 40 | 95 (Best in this row) |
| Offline languages | 44 (Best in this row) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | Not stated |
| Battery | |||||||
| Battery | 4 h | 2400 mAh | 1200 mAh | 1550 mAh | 2000 mAh | Not stated | 2500 mAh |
| Features | |||||||
| Modes | one-click translation, ask for directions assistant, chat translation, listening mode, photo translation | voice (82 languages), photo (112 languages), text (107 languages), multi-talk, learning app (28 languages) | voice translation, camera text translation | voice translation, camera text translation, one-button translation | voice, photo, text, learning app, automatic mode | one-button translation, photo translation | voice, photo, text (116 languages), group (up to 100 users, 107 languages), phone call translator (53 languages), Vasco Assistant, voice cloning (My Voice, 54 languages) |
| Design and storage | |||||||
| Screen | Not stated | 5 in (Best in this row) | Not stated | Not stated | 2.8 in | 2.83 in | 3.54 in |
| Storage | 32 GB | 32 GB | Not stated | Not stated | 32 GB | 8 GB | 32 GB |
| Weight | Not stated | 136 g | 74 g | 125 g | 106 g | 86 g | 145 g |
Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.
Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.
What actually matters, in plain words.
A pocket translator earns its place when the connection fails. The offline count is the number that protects you on a plane or abroad without data.
Online translation needs data. Some devices include a SIM with data for a fixed period, some for life (maker claim). After that period you pay for data or use Wi-Fi.
A bigger screen makes photo translation of menus and signs easier, and lets the other person read along instead of passing a phone around.
For one trip a year a phone app can be enough. A dedicated device makes sense for frequent travel, weak connections, or when you would rather not hand your phone to a stranger.
Pocket devices with a screen, a camera and often data included. We rank every handheld translator we track with the same formula, built on the facts each maker publishes: offline languages, online languages, mobile data included, screen size, no subscription needed, price.
Each criterion is turned into points from 0 to 10 within the category, then averaged with these weights. A missing figure is left out and the weights are renormalized. Products with too little published data are listed without a score. No lab or field testing.
Read the full methodologyOn our published formula, the Timekettle T1 leads with 9.0/10, ahead of the Vasco Translator V4 (8.9) and the Pocketalk S2 (8.9). Scores come from official specs and prices checked on Oct 29, 2026.
The Timekettle T1 Mini at $149.99 when we checked. Cheapest is not always best value: compare the running costs below.
Offline languages published by the makers: Timekettle T1 (44), Timekettle T1 Mini (13). The others need a connection or do not publish an offline count.
No. We compare published specifications and prices with a formula shown on our methodology page. We say so on every page rather than pretending to run tests.