Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores

Best AI video generators in 2026

The ranking

  1. Our top pick

    Runway logoRunway
    1
    Runway AI, Inc.

    Runway

    Best overall

    • Free planYes
    • Voice cloningYes
    • Max export4K
    9.5

    From $15/mochecked Oct 29, 2026

  2. invideo AI logoinvideo AI
    2
    InVideo Innovation

    invideo AI

    Best free plan

    • Free planYes
    • Languages50+
    • Voice cloningYes
    9.2

    From $20/mochecked Oct 29, 2026

  3. Video generatorsHeyGen
    3
    HeyGen Inc.

    HeyGen

    Best for AI avatars

    • Free planYes
    • Languages175+
    • Voice cloningYes
    9.1

    From $29/mochecked Oct 29, 2026

  4. Synthesia logoSynthesia
    #4
    Synthesia Ltd

    Synthesia

    Best budget

    • Free planYes
    • Languages140+
    • Voice cloningYes
    9.1

    From $19/mochecked Oct 29, 2026

  5. Fliki logoFliki
    #5
    Fliki (Fliki Inc.)

    Fliki

    • Free planYes
    • Languages80+
    • Voice cloningYes
    8.9

    From $28/mochecked Oct 29, 2026

  6. Pictory logoPictory
    #6
    Pictory.ai

    Pictory

    • Free planNo
    • Languages29+
    • Voice cloningYes
    8.4

    From $29/mochecked Oct 29, 2026

Rank and medals come only from the published formula. Buttons are direct links to the maker, not affiliate links. Images: manufacturers and publishers, embedded from their official sites.

Our picks

Each badge follows a published rule, shown under the card. A product gets one badge at most: each rule picks among the products not already picked.

Compare every spec

One column per product. Swipe sideways on a phone; the first column stays in place.

Compare the top 3 side by side
Spec
Our score
Editorial score9.5/10 (Best in this row)9.2/109.1/109.1/108.9/108.4/10
Rank in its category#1 of 6, video generators#2 of 6, video generators#3 of 6, video generators#4 of 6, video generators#5 of 6, video generators#6 of 6, video generators
Price and running costs
Free plan$0: 125 one-time credits, selection of generative models, 5GB storage (Best in this row)Free: limited credits to explore, reset every week (Monday 12 a.m. UTC), no card needed; downloads carry an invideo watermark (Best in this row)$0/mo: 3 videos a month, watermarked, up to 1 minute each; Avatar IV & Video Agent; 500+ presenters; 30+ languages (Best in this row)Basic $0: 500 credits/month, 10 minutes of Studio video creation or dubbing, 3 survey responses, 1 Syren video (limited promo); videos carry a Synthesia watermark (Best in this row)$0: 3 credits per month, 300 voices across 80+ languages, HD 720p videos, includes Fliki watermark (Best in this row)No free plan shown (trial only)
Entry price$15 / month (Best in this row)$20 / month$29 / month$19 / month$28 / month$29 / month
Watermark on free planNot statedYesYesYesYesNot stated
Cost over 2 years$28824 × $12/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually$240 (Best in this row)24 × $10/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually$57624 × $24/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually$33624 × $14/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually$403.2024 × $16.80/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually$60024 × $25/mo, cheapest paid plan, billed annually
Languages
LanguagesNot stated50+175+ languages and dialects (Creator) (Best in this row)140+80+29 (Professional and Teams; 7 on Starter)
Features
Voice cloningPro (1 custom voice clone)YesYesYesYesYes
Max resolution4K upscaling (Best in this row)4K (Seedance 2.0 on Plus) (Best in this row)4K (Pro) (Best in this row)1080p (Full HD MP4 download, Starter and up)1080p1080p (720p on the free trial)
AI avatarsNoYesYesYesYesYes
Stock mediaNoYesNot statedNot statedYesYes
APIYesNot statedNot statedSeparate API pricingPremium & EnterpriseYes

Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.

Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.

How to choose

What actually matters, in plain words.

  1. 01

    What the free plan really includes

    Free plans usually add a watermark and cap credits or export quality. They are good for trying a tool, rarely for publishing.

  2. 02

    Monthly or annual billing

    Entry prices are often shown per month but billed yearly. The table shows the billing next to the price, and the 2-year cost uses the cheapest paid plan.

  3. 03

    Avatars or generated clips

    Avatar tools put a presenter on screen for training or explainers; generative tools create scenes from text. Pick the kind of video you actually make.

  4. 04

    Export quality and languages

    Check the maximum export resolution on the plan you can afford, and the languages if you publish for several markets.

How we rank

Text to video, avatars and generative clips, from free plans up. We rank every AI video generator we track with the same formula, built on the facts each maker publishes: free plan, entry price per month, languages, voice cloning, max export resolution, no watermark on free plan.

Each criterion is turned into points from 0 to 10 within the category, then averaged with these weights. A missing figure is left out and the weights are renormalized. Products with too little published data are listed without a score. No lab or field testing.

Read the full methodology
  • Free plan21%
  • Entry price per month26%
  • Languages16%
  • Voice cloning16%
  • Max export resolution16%
  • No watermark on free plan5%

Questions

What are the best AI video generators in 2026?

On our published formula, the Runway leads with 9.5/10, ahead of the invideo AI (9.2) and the HeyGen (9.1). Scores come from official specs and prices checked on Oct 29, 2026.

What is the cheapest option?

The Runway at From $15/mo when we checked. Cheapest is not always best value: compare the running costs below.

Are there free AI video generators?

Free plans are shown by: Runway, invideo AI, HeyGen, Synthesia, Fliki. Free plans usually add a watermark or cap minutes or credits.

Did you test these products?

No. We compare published specifications and prices with a formula shown on our methodology page. We say so on every page rather than pretending to run tests.