Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores

Owlet Dream Sock vs Cradlewise Smart Crib

Criterion by criterion

Points out of 10 on each scored criterion. Owlet Dream Sock: 2 wins · Cradlewise Smart Crib: 0 wins.

  • no3.0

    Breathing-motion alerts (maker claim)

    3.0no
  • FDA-cleared (maker)10.0

    FDA status as stated by the maker

    n/anot stated
  • no camera3.0

    Video resolution

    n/anot stated
  • not required10.0

    No subscription needed

    5.0partly required
  • not statedn/a

    Local video storage

    n/anot stated
  • $299.997.9

    Price

    3.0$1,999

Verdict by profile

Full comparison table

Spec
Our score
Editorial score9.0/10No score
Rank in its category#4 of 5, baby monitorsNo score
Price and running costs
Price$299.99 (Best in this row)$1,999
SubscriptionNot required (optional: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360)) (Best in this row)2 years Nurture Core included; then Core $120/yr, Plus $199/yr (nurture page)
Cost over 2 years$299.99Device only: the plan is optionalNot calculatedPlan partly required; price per feature not comparable
Features
VideoNo camera (sold separately)Not stated
Night visionNot statedNot stated
Wi-Fi2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Bluetooth (base station)Not stated
Two-way audioNot statedNot stated
App featuresOwlet Dream App: live pulse rate & oxygen readings, health notifications, historical trends, sleep insights (no subscription)Wake-up detection, auto-bounce/soothing, built-in baby monitor camera, sound, OTA updates
Safety claims (maker)
Breathing alertsSock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring)Built-in camera senses wake-up signs (movement, eyes opening, sound) and auto-bounces; no breathing claim found
FDA status (maker)FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)No FDA statement found
Design and storage
Local storageNot statedNot stated

Highlighted: best value on a criterion we score.

Cost over 2 years = price + 24 months of the cheapest required plan, when the maker publishes both. Optional plans are left out. We never estimate a missing figure.

Questions

Which is better, the Owlet Dream Sock or the Cradlewise Smart Crib?

Only one of them publishes enough data to be scored. Compare the criteria in the table: the Owlet Dream Sock wins 2 of 6.

Which one is cheaper?

The Owlet Dream Sock, at $299.99 against $1,999 on the official stores on Oct 29, 2026.

Did you test both?

No. This comparison uses the makers' published specs and prices only, with the scoring formula from our methodology page.