Prices checked Oct 29, 2026 on official stores and pricing pages · 47 products and apps · no paid scores
Owlet

Owlet Dream Sock review

$299.99Price checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official store. Prices change.

Ranked #4 of 6 smart baby monitors we compare, with an editorial score of 9.0/10. Strongest point on paper: fDA status as stated by the maker (FDA-cleared (maker)). Weakest: no breathing-motion alerts (maker claim).

Editorial score9.0/10
  • Breathing-motion alerts (maker claim)3.0
  • FDA status as stated by the maker10.0
  • Video resolution3.0
  • No subscription needed10.0
  • Local video storagen/a
  • Price7.9

Points out of 10 within the category; "n/a" = not published, left out of the score. Scale 7.8-9.5. How we score

Check price at the official store

Direct link to the maker, not an affiliate link.

Key specs

  • No camera (sold separately)Video
  • FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)FDA status (maker)
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Bluetooth (base station)Wi-Fi
Verdict

Best for parents who want FDA-cleared pulse & oxygen alerts without a camera.

What we like

  • FDA De Novo clearance as OTC medical-grade pulse oximeter (maker statement)
  • No subscription required for live readings and notifications
  • HSA/FSA eligible, 30-night guarantee, 1-year warranty

What we don't

  • No video: camera sold separately (Dream Sight $99.99 or Dream Duo bundle)
  • Tracks pulse/oxygen, not breathing directly
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only

Not a medical device unless stated; talk to your pediatrician. The maker states: "FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)". A monitor does not replace safe sleep practices.

Full specs

VideoNo camera (sold separately)
Breathing alertsNo, sock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring)
FDA status (maker)FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)
SubscriptionNot required (optional: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360))
Night visionNot stated
Wi-Fi2.4 GHz Wi-Fi + Bluetooth (base station)
Two-way audioNot stated
Local storageNot stated
App featuresOwlet Dream App: live pulse rate & oxygen readings, health notifications, historical trends, sleep insights (no subscription)

Subscription and hidden costs

Price checked on Oct 29, 2026: $299.99.

Subscription: Optional Owlet360: $9.99/month after 7-day free trial (owletcare.com/pages/owlet360).

Who it's for

Parents who want FDA-cleared pulse & oxygen alerts without a camera.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want to see your baby: there is no camera in this product.

Closest alternatives

Full ranking

Questions

How much does the Owlet Dream Sock cost?

$299.99 on the official store when we checked on Oct 29, 2026. Prices change: the button above leads to the current price.

Is the Owlet Dream Sock FDA-cleared?

The maker states: "FDA-Cleared (De Novo clearance); Medical-Grade Pulse Oximeter (Over-the-Counter)". We repeat the maker's wording; talk to your pediatrician about whether a monitor is right for your baby.

Does the Owlet Dream Sock monitor breathing?

The maker does not claim breathing monitoring (sock (pulse oximetry: pulse rate + oxygen level; maker does not claim breathing monitoring)).

How did you score it? Did you test it?

No lab or field testing. The score is calculated from the maker's published specs and price, with weights published on our methodology page. Here, 100% of the weighted criteria were known.

Related guide: Do smart baby monitors with breathing alerts make sense?

Sources

Read on Oct 29, 2026. Specs and prices are the maker's; the score and the verdict are ours.